Summer Reading List

I’m so excited to take the summer off. One thing I’m looking forward to most is reading! Reading for fun!

Here’s my list so far, in no particular order:

The Elegant Universe by Brian Greene

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortensen

Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut

The Seven Mouths of God by Megan K. Olsen

The Color of Water by James McBride

The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down by Anne Fadiman

Black Water by Joyce Carol Oates

Mother Wove the Morning by Carol Lynne Pearson

Granite and Rainbow by Virginia Woolf

An American Childhood by Annie Dillard

Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard (reread)

Now Is the Time to Open Your Heart by Alice Walker

Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson

The Autobiography of Red by Anne Carson

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

All God’s Critters Got a Place in the Choir by Laurel Ulrich and Emma Lou Warner Thayne

That ought to keep me busy, but I welcome any suggestion for additions. Or substitutions. I imagine I’ll also read some fun YA stuff with my big kids. I haven’t read any of Brandon Mull’s Beyonders series yet. And Matthew’s working through Madeleine L’Engle’s Wrinkle In Time series, so I may find myself joining him in that. I love her books.

What about you? What will you be reading this summer?

One thought on “Summer Reading List

  1. Red Tent – one of my all time favorites. Ever.
    Anything by Alice Walker is golden.
    I saw Carol Lynn Pearson perform Mother Wove the Morning many years ago. You were probably an infant at the time. You’ll love it.

    Right now I’m reading The Book of Mormon Girl, by Joanna Brooks. I’ll lend it to you when I’m done if you want. If you have the time 🙂

Leave a Reply

