From My Readings: We Are All Falling

“As we fall, I think about my mother and father. I think about the people I loved. I think about the people I hated. I think about the people I betrayed. I think about the people who have betrayed me.
We’re all the same people. And we are all falling.”

From Flight by Sherman Alexie

Despite my extreme annoyance at Alexie’s recent ignorant tweet about homebirthers, I still have to admit that this is one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Irreverent, funny, sad, powerful.

The idea in this passage has been the lesson of my last few months. We make such a big deal of everything that separates us, all of the differences, but we are all so very much the same. We are all connected, doing our best, making the best choices we can as we fall forward into our lives. We don’t have to allow continued harm into our lives, but we can be the end to the endless circle of judgement and anger. We can begin to forgive, to be compassionate, to see the truth: “We’re all the same people.”

Leave a Reply

